When You Don’t Feel Like Worshipping

18539

So here I am, my bent knees pressed to the cold wet ground;

The skin of my face glistening with the tears of unending despair and hopelessness.

North, South, East, West, I search earnestly for answers;

Nothing but thick, gray, soupy fog!

Where is He who laid the foundations of the earth?

Where is He whose breath gives ice and freezes the broad waters?

Has Heaven shut its eyes and ears to my pain?

Has the Immortal King perhaps fallen into a deep sleep?

Is anybody even listening? Does anybody even hear me?

Oh my! I feel my soul no more. Can I even offer worship?

Pretense it may be, for I will go through the motion;

What do I do now? What do I do?

Oh no! The pressure is building up, I can’t contain it anymore.

Argh! Lord, please quiet the noise

[I pause for a few moment. I feel total silence within now.]

Be still. Be still. Be still and know that I am.

I AM THAT I AM, AND ALL THAT I COULD EVER BE.

I AM He who commands the morning to appear and cause the dawn to rise in the East

I AM He who gives strength to the horse and adorns his neck with a shimmering mane

Look at the birds of the air;

Not tied down to a job description, yet I feed them

Forgotten so soon?

You are on Mount Zion, the city of the living God, the heavenly Jerusalem

You are in the presence of thousands and thousands of angels,

Ready to be dispatched on your behalf.

How close you are to me!

Now spread your case before Me and let Me handle the rest.

Lies and a change of mind? Not my game

Just the thought of it desecrates my Name

If I did it before, I will do it again

My promises never fail

So my child, I say, wait in faith

It’s just a matter of time before the wind of the Spirit starts to blow

One thought on “When You Don’t Feel Like Worshipping

Leave a Reply

